Behavior Analysts of West Michigan

Congratulations 2015 AIA Grand Rapids Honor Award Winners!

Posted by: 
Lindsay Anes
Friday, October 16, 2015

The AIAGR 2015 honor awards gala was a resounding success!  Thank you to all who attended, and a special thank you to our members and their firms who submitted projects this year.  AIAGR received 33 submissions total, awarding 5 building awards, 2 small commercial design awards, and 6 individual achievement awards.  We did something new this year to generate more buzz around the great projects and the gala event itself through a printed brochure in MiBiz and a radio interview on WGVU’s Morning Show.  Congratulations to all members who submitted on an impressive collection of work and professional achievements and to this year’s award recipients.  Your AIAGR Board looks forward to building on this success for next year’s honor awards gala! 

The American Institute of Architects – Grand Rapids Chapter recognized the following people, architecture firms, and projects at their 2015 honor awards program on October 15, 2015.

Greg T. Metz, AIA, of Lott3Metz Architecture, received the President’s Award.  This award is presented to an architect member of AIA Grand Rapids who has contributed to the profession through service and commitment to the AIA Grand Rapids chapter.

Thomas Danckaert,  AIA, NCARB, LEED AP, EDAC, Senior Design Architect of Progressive AE,  received the Young Architect Award.  This award recognizes exceptional accomplishments in and contributions to the profession and/or the community by an architect who has been a member of AIA Grand Rapids for a minimum of 3 years and is under 40 years old.

Arnold Mikon, FAIA, President and CEO of TowerPinkster Architects | Engineers, received a Lifetime Achievement Award.   

Brian K. Craig, AIA, of Kendall College of Art & Design of Ferris State University received a Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to an architect(s) who has clearly demonstrated distinguished leadership in any phase of the architectural profession.  This award is made in recognition of outstanding achievement and of notable contributions to the American Institute of Architects.

Tami VandenBerg, of Well House, received the David D. Smith Humanitarian Award.  This award is presented to a member of the Grand Rapids community who represents community service and leadership, while also elevating the community’s awareness of architecture and the built-environment through the creation of enduring places. 

Belden Brick & Supply received the Distinguished Professional Affiliate AwardBelden Brick has been a sponsor of the chapter year after year.  In the past year, they went above and beyond in helping make many events possible.  This award is given to show the chapters sincere appreciation of all that Belden Brick and Supply does.

Four firms received the Building Honor Award: AECOM (formerly URS) for The Jenison Center for the Arts, Jenison, MI; Integrated Architecture for Whirlpool Benton Harbor Technology Center, Battle Creek, MI, and Spectrum Health Medical Group Beltline Integrated Care Center, Grand Rapids, MI; Lott3Metz Architecture for The Lena Meijer Building, Grand Rapids, MI; and Progressive AE for Vernon J. Ehlers Amtrak Station, Grand Rapids, MI.

Two firms received the Small Commercial Design Award: GMB Architecture + Engineering for Interphase Interiors – Studio Blue and Progressive AE for Art Van Sports Complex Championship Field.

Additionally, AIA Grand Rapids has selected two West Michigan students to each receive $1,000 student scholarships for their architectural education: Autumn Waldron of Coopersville and Anne Schnitzenbaumer or Grand Rapids.   Congratulations to these hard-working, dedicated students of architecture.

The honor awards were sponsored by Belden Brick & Supply, Eikenhout, Triangle, Owen-Ames-Kimball Co., Driesenga & Associates, Inc., JRA Food Service Consultants, and Acoustics By Design.  They were held at The Cheney Place in downtown Grand Rapids, MI.

News Type: 
News Page