Slows BBQ

Key Works of Modern Architecture by Frank Lloyd Wright

Event Date: 
Thursday, February 4, 2016 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm
Event Location: 
Granger Center for Construction and HVACR, 605 Warren Ave., FSU, Big Rapids

A group of 10 buildings designed by Frank Lloyd Wright (1867-1959) have become the first works of modern architecture nominated by the U.S. to the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) World Heritage List. The buildings—Unity Temple in Oak Park, IL; Frederick C. Robie House in Chicago, IL; Taliesin in Spring Green, WI; Hollyhock House in Los Angeles, CA; Fallingwater in Mill Run, PA; Herbert and Katherine Jacobs House in Madison, WI; Taliesin West in Scottsdale, AZ; Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in New York City; Price Tower in Bartlesville, OK; and Marin County Civic Center in San Rafael, CA—were built between 1906–1969 and chosen for their significance in the development of modern architecture. They are the most iconic, fully realized and innovative of more than 400 existing works by Frank Lloyd Wright. Each is a masterwork and together they show varied illustrations of “organic architecture” in their abstraction of form, use of new technologies and masterful integration of space, materials and site. All have been designated U.S. National Historic Landmarks. “Frank Lloyd Wright has long been recognized domestically as one of the greatest 20th century architects,” notes Lynda Waggoner, vice president of Western Pennsylvania Conservancy and director of Fallingwater. “This will bring worldwide attention to his significance.”

Lynda returns to Ferris State University and the 2016 Festival of the Arts to present the work of the conservancy in preparing this submission. 

See FLYER for more information.